Hard Cover

$26.99


The Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick
INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
"A sumptuous garden maze of a novel that immerses readers in a complex, vanished world." -Kirkus (starred review)
From New York Times bestselling author Yangsze Choo, an utterly transporting novel set in 1930s colonial Malaysia, perfect for fans of Isabel Allende and Min Jin Lee
Quick-witted, ambitious Ji Lin is stuck as an apprentice dressmaker, moonlighting as a dancehall girl to help pay off her mother's Mahjong debts. But when one of her dance partners accidentally leaves behind a gruesome souvenir, Ji Lin plunges into a dark adventure: a mirror world of secrets and superstitions.
Eleven-year-old houseboy Ren is also on a mission, racing to fulfill his former master's dying wish: that Ren find the man's finger, lost years ago in an accident, and bury it with his body. Ren has 49 days to do so, or his master's soul will wander the earth forever.
As the days tick relentlessly by, a series of unexplained deaths racks the district, along with whispers of men who turn into tigers. Ji Lin and Ren's increasingly dangerous paths crisscross through lush plantations, hospital storage rooms, and ghostly dreamscapes.
Yangsze Choo's The Night Tiger pulls us into a world of servants and masters, age-old superstition and modern idealism, sibling rivalry and forbidden love. But anchoring this dazzling, propulsive novel is the intimate coming-of-age of a child and a young woman, each searching for their place in a society that would rather they stay invisible.
"A work of incredible beauty... Astoundingly captivating and striking... A transcendent story of courage and connection.” – Booklist (starred review)

Details

Subject: Adult, Pub. Date: 2019-02-12, Book Id: 9, ISBN: 978-1250175458, Print Size: 6.4 x 1.4 x 9.6 inches, Print Length: 384, Category: Fantasy, Historical Fiction

Yangsze Choo

Yangsze Choo is the NYTimes bestselling author of THE GHOST BRIDE (soon to be a Netflix Original series) and THE NIGHT TIGER, Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine's Book Club Pick, Amazon's Spotlight Pick for Best Book of the Month, with starred Kirkus, Booklist, and Publisher's Weekly reviews.

Yangsze loves to eat and read, and often does both at the same time. She also loves book clubs and is happy to visit or Skype in. Visit her blog at www.yschoo.com